Skip to main content

EELA Stakeholder Forum


The Annual Stakeholder Forum of the Energy Efficient Lighting and Appliances (EELA) project took place in Nairobi, Kenya, on 29 and 30 March 2023, under the theme EmPowering efficient appliances and greater livelihoods in EAC and SADC. It was a crucial event for stakeholders active in the vibrant energy efficient lighting and appliances space across East and Southern Africa, and brings together key stakeholders from the broader energy sector in East and Southern Africa.


Stay tuned and follow us on Youtube for more content about the EELA Stakeholder Forum!


08h00 -  Registration of Participants and Refreshments

09h00 -  Welcoming and Opening

Message from Ms Fatou Haidara, Deputy Director General of UNIDO and Special Representative for Africa



Opening remarks

  • Mr. Elsam Turyahabwe, Representative from EAC Secretariat
  • Mr. Kuda Ndhlukula, Executive Director, SACREEE
  • Mr. Adam Öjdahl, First Secretary, Regional Energy Advisor, Embassy of Sweden in Kenya
  • Ms. Kawira Bucyana, UNIDO Country Representative in Kenya

Welcome address by the Ministry of Energy of Kenya and official opening of the event

  • Mr. Alex Wachira, Principal Secretary, State Department of Energy

09H30 - Introduction to Energy Efficient Lighting and Appliances in East and Southern Africa (EELA) Programme

Moderator: Ms. Mary Bwabye, EELA Project Team, EACREEE

EELA Champion Awards

10h45 - Break

11H15 - High Level Panel: Tracking Progress on EmPowering Energy Efficient Appliances for Greater Livelihoods in EAC and SADC

Moderator: Ms. Linet Luval, Deputy Representative of UNIDO in Kenya

Setting the scene: Ms. Melanie Slade, Energy Efficiency Policy Analyst, IEA [Link]

  • Mr. Simon T. Kalanzi, Commissioner Energy Efficiency and Conservation Department, Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development (Uganda)
  • Mr. Martin Ndayizeye, General Director of Energy, Ministry of Hydraulics, Energy and Mines (Burundi)
  • Mr Tom Remis, Undersecretary, Ministry of Energy and Dams (South Sudan)
  • Mr. Goddy Muhumuza, Executive Director, EACREEE
  • Mr. Yagouba Traore, Head, Energy Policy, Planning and Strategy, AFREC

12H00 - Track

Track 1: Policy Session

Moderator: Ms. Ashanti Mbanga, Project Manager, SANEDI

  • Mr. David K. Mutisya, Senior Deputy Director Renewable Energy, Ministry of Energy (Kenya)
  • Mr. Nico Snyders, Deputy Director, Ministry of Energy (Namibia)
  • Mr. James Jacob Molenga, Director of Energy (Botswana)
  • Mr. Rolly Binama Tshingana, Head Officer, General Secretariat of Hydraulic Resource and Electricity (DRC)
  • Ms. Belinda Kancheya, Regional Coordinator, SADCSTAN
  • Ms. Angellah Wekongo, Associate, CLASP

Track 2: Capacity Building Session

Moderator: Mr. Readlay Makaliki, EELA Lead Technical Expert, SACREEE

  • Mr. Gift Chiwayula, Principal Energy Officer, Department of Energy Affairs (Malawi)
  • Mr. Mokhethi Seitlheko, Acting Director Energy, Department of Energy (Lesotho)
  • Ms. Salome Mausse, Head of Energy Efficiency, Ministry of Mineral Resources and Energy (Mozambique)
  • Mr. Mpezilwe Simukoko, Consultant Training and Research, KGRTC
  • Mr. Peter Bennich, Senior Advisor, Swedish Energy Agency (online) [Link]

13h00 - Lunch

14H00 - Panel Discussion: Localizing Value Chains for Renewable Energy and EELA in Africa

Moderator: Ms. Karin Reiss-Haimbala, Program Manager, UNIDO

  • Mr. Vilakati Mandla David Linda, Principal Energy Officer, Ministry of Energy (Eswatini)
  • Mr. Sylvester Makaka, Energy Advisor, Kenyan Association of Manufacturers
  • Mr. Xiaohua Zhang, China Country Director, ClimateWorks Foundation (online)
  • Ms. Elizabeth Wangeci Chege, Energy Efficiency and Cooling Specialist, SEFORALL
  • Mr. Benjamin Clarke, Business Analyst for International Cooperation, SolarPower European (online)
  • Mr. Kouakou Alexis Kouassi, Director of Operations, ECOWAS Centre for Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency

15h00 -  Track

Track 1: Clean Cooling Session

Moderator: Mr. Saikiran Kasamsetty, Energy Efficiency Specialist, U4E [Link]

  • Mr. Ali Saandi Mmadi, Energy Advisor, Ministry of Energy (Comoros)
  • Mr. Steven Bihinda, Senior Engineer Renewable Energy, Ministry of Energy (Rwanda) (online)
  • Mr. Chakanetsa Mhungira, Energy Development Officer (Zimbabwe)
  • Mr. Multra Hemant Chowbay, Senior Engineer, Public Utilities (Mauritius)
  • Mr. Morris Kayitare, Rwanda Cooling Initiative Project Lead, ACES
  • Ms. Elizabeth Wangeci Chege, Energy Efficiency and Cooling Specialist, SEforALL

Track 2: Productive Use Session

Moderator: Mr. Sam Grant, Senior Director, Clean Energy Access, CLASP


  • Mr. Razafimahatratra Dina Anjaraniaina, Director Energy Emergence (Madagascar)
  • Mr. Robert Charles Dulle, Principal Energy Engineer (Tanzania)
  • Mr. Francis Wainaina, Senior Policy Manager, East Africa Regional Representative, GOGLA
  • Mr. Jakub Vrba, Senior Research Analyst, Energy Saving Trust (online)
  • Mr. Edward Ndayisaba, Vice Chairman, East African Renewable Energy Federation, EAREF

16h30 - Panel Discussion: Women and Youth at the Center of EELA Programs

Moderator: Mr. Denis Ariho, Lead Technical Expert, EELA/EACREEE

  • Ms. Cynthia Alexander, Principal Officer RE and Energy Management, Energy Commission (Seychelles)
  • Ms. Linet Njeri, Coordinator of YEEP, Eenovator
  • Mr. Ndivhuho Tshikovhi, Project Associate, UNIDO
  • Ms. Agnes Kalyonge, CEO, Jikoni Magic
  • Ms. Asteria Markus, Gender Focal Point, EELA/SACREEE

17h30 -  Closing of day 1

18h00 -  Evening reception at Trademark Hotel


09h00 -  Welcome and Introduction of Day 2

Ms. Linet Luvai, Deputy Representative of UNIDO in Kenya

09h15 - Market Potential for Energy Service Business Models in the EAC and SADC region

Moderator: Mr. Kuda Ndhlukula, Executive Director, SACREEE

Questions and Answers

11h00 -  Break

11h30 - Showcasing selected projects of the first call for proposals of the EELA TA and Co-financing facility

Introduction and lessons learned from the EELA Facility, Ms. Evita Moawad, Sustainable Energy Expert, UNIDO

  • Mr. Kelvin Odhiambo, Director & Chief Technical Officer, Icopower [Link]
  • Ms. Agatha Mitambo, Finance and Administrator Officer, Green Impact Technologies [Link]
  • Ms. Memory Banda, Head of Marketing, Zuwa Energy [Link]
  • Mr. Eustache Rutivomba, Technical Director, ERE Ltd [Link]
  • Mr. Vedaste Ndayishimiye, Technical Director, STOP Ltd [Link]

13h00 - Lunch

14h00 - Panel Discussion: Financing Sources and Mechanisms for EELA in the EAC and SADC Region

Moderator: Mrs. Karin Reiss-Haimbala, Project Coordinator, UNIDO

  • Mr. Adam Fitzwilliam, Director, CAMCO
  • Mr. Luc Tossou, Principal Energy Efficiency Specialist and Investment Officer, AfDB
  • Ms. Ada Marmion, Director Partnerships, Knowledge and Impact, AECF
  • Mr. Olympus Manthata, Head: Climate Finance, Development Bank of South Africa (online)
  • Mr. Stefan Jonsson, CEO and Co-founder, GloFin Advisory AB (online)

15h30 - Break

16h00 - Track

Track 1: Interactive Training on Delivering Successful Energy Efficiency Projects in EAC and SADC Context”

Trainer: Mr. Aref Abou Zahr, CEO, Ark Energy LLC

Track 2: EAC Regional Energy Efficiency Policy (closed session)


17h00 -  Closing Session

18h00 - End of Event


Meeting contact:

  • Ms. Karin Reiss-Haimbala, UNIDO, Email:
  • Mr. Ndivhuho Tshikovhi, UNIDO, Email:
  • Ms. Mary Bwabye, UNIDO, Email:

Please do not hesitate to contact the EELA team:  

The meeting is paperless. All materials are provided through the EELA website: